April 13th

I’ve been meaning to write a new post for some time (since my appointment with the doctor in Lebanon), but as my memory and responsibilities would have it, this is the first chance I’ve gotten.  The doctor in Lebanon agreed to do the Essure procedure for me.  She does want to put me under for it instead of giving me a local anesthetic, so I will have to talk to her about this.  The last time I had general anesthetic, it stayed in my system for three years and gave me nasty dizzy spells.  My pre-op is April 9th, and the procedure is April 13th.  Then I have a post-op scheduled for April 27th, and my “post Essure hysterosalpingogram” is July 27th.

I was amused by the nurse who took my history.  She asked me a lot of questions that I’ve never been asked before at a doctor’s (do you wear a seat belt?, for example).  She also asked if I were exposed to toxic chemicals at all.  I kind of went on a rant about how SLS is in almost every soap and messes with the body’s hormone levels.  She said, “Okay, so, cleaning chemicals?”  I sighed and agreed.  She must have thought I was a kook.

I’ve been going to physical therapy for 3 weeks, and it is really working.  I was skeptical, and a little apprehensive about it at first.  It is, after all, INTERNAL physical therapy.  But, when I went to Dr. Shipman in Lebanon just three days after my first therapy session, she wanted to do a pelvic exam.  Just about every doctor I have been to wants to do a pelvic exam.  I noticed it didn’t hurt as bad this time though.  And the sex pain–my worst enemy–is improving.  I have some stretches to do at home, but they’re easy and they make sense.

The therapy itself hurts pretty bad.  It’s the same as if you have a knot in your shoulder.  You know it’s going to hurt like hell when you massage it out, but you also know that once it’s gone, you’ll feel a lot better.  Sometimes it’s all I can do to grit my teeth and not jump off the table.  I’ve gotten pretty good at blocking pain though.  Credit the tattoos for that.

3 thoughts on “April 13th

  1. Hi Heather.

    I don’t know whether to say, I hope all is well, or not. I do hope that the surgery does what it is supposed to do and finally helps you all over.

    I did a dog run to Londonderry, NH last weekend, it was an interesting trip. My friend and I got there early so we decided to check out the area a bit. Well, we kind of got lost. The worst was not being able to tell N,S,E,or W because of the overcast skies. We really got turned all around. I’m usually pretty good with figuring out how wto get to where I need to be, but I was following my friends directions and we really got on the wrong roads, or the right road, but in the wrong direction! We saw lots of the surrounding area! LOL.

    We miss you in rescue, but I understand your health and family have to take presidence. Please let me know if I can help you in any way, especially as you go through surgery and recovery.

    Take care,
    Kyle

  2. I am so, so glad that the physical therapy is working for you. I was totally nervous for myself as well, but now I’m back up to speed with my body and it feels amazing. ~many hugs~

  3. Thanks Kyle! It’s not a surgical procedure, just an outpatient sterilization procedure. It won’t do anything for my pain, but it will give me peace of mind.

    Sash, that’s awesome that PT is working for you too! *hugs*

Leave a comment